Nakuru County: Number, Governor, Sub Counties and More

Nakuru County is located in the Rift Valley region of Kenya. It is one of the 47 counties in the country and its capital city is Nakuru. The county is known for its diverse landscapes, including the Great Rift Valley, Lake Nakuru, and Menengai Crater. It’s also agriculturally rich, with farming being a major economic activity, particularly in the production of crops such as maize, wheat, and horticultural products.

In addition Nakuru is a commercial and industrial hub, with various industries and businesses operating in the area. The county is home to several national parks and reserves, making it a popular destination for wildlife and nature enthusiasts.

Nakuru County: Everything You Need to Know

Nestled in the heart of Kenya’s Rift Valley region, Nakuru County is a captivating destination that offers a unique blend of natural beauty, cultural heritage, and economic vibrancy.

From its breathtaking landscapes to its thriving agricultural sector, Nakuru has something for everyone. Here is everything you need to know about this remarkable county.

Quick Facts About Nakuru County

  • County Number: 032
  • Number of Sub-Counties: 11 (Bahati, Gilgil, Kuresoi North, Kuresoi South, Molo, Naivasha, Nakuru Town East, Nakuru Town West, Njoro, Rongai, Subukia.)
  • County Headquarters: Nakuru City
  • Current Governor: Susan Kihika
  • Current Senator: Tabitha Karanja
  • Woman Representative: Liza Chelule Chepkorir

Geography and Location

Situated in the central part of the Rift Valley, Nakuru County spans an area of approximately 2,325 square kilometers. It is bordered by Baringo County to the north, Laikipia County to the northwest, Nyandarua County to the west, Narok County to the south, and Kajiado County to the southeast.

The county’s topography is diverse, ranging from the scenic Great Rift Valley and its stunning escarpments to the picturesque Lake Nakuru and the iconic Menengai Crater.

Capital City and Urban Centers

The county’s capital city is Nakuru, which is also the fourth-largest city in Kenya. Nakuru is a bustling urban center with a vibrant economy and a rich history. It serves as a commercial and industrial hub, attracting businesses and entrepreneurs from various sectors.

Other notable towns in Nakuru County include Naivasha, Gilgil, Molo, and Njoro, each offering its own distinct charm and economic significance.

Places to Visit in Nakuru County

Nakuru County is blessed with an abundance of natural wonders that never fail to captivate visitors. One of its most famous attractions is Lake Nakuru, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and home to a vast array of bird species, including the magnificent flamingos that create a mesmerizing pink spectacle on the lake’s shores.

The county is also home to the Menengai Crater, a dormant volcano with scenic hiking trails and breathtaking views of the surrounding landscapes. Additionally, Hell’s Gate National Park, located near Lake Naivasha, offers unique opportunities for outdoor enthusiasts, with its towering cliffs, wildlife encounters, and adventurous rock climbing and biking experiences.

Agriculture and Economy

Nakuru County’s economy thrives on agriculture, thanks to its fertile soils and favorable climatic conditions. The county is a leading producer of crops such as maize, wheat, barley, and horticultural products, which contribute significantly to Kenya’s food security and export industry.

This county also boasts a robust livestock sector, with dairy farming and beef production being major economic activities. In recent years, the county has witnessed a surge in agribusiness ventures, including flower farming, vegetable processing, and dairy value addition.

Culture and Heritage in Nakuru County

The people of Nakuru are diverse, comprising various ethnic communities such as the Kikuyu, Kalenjin, Maasai, Luo, and Luhya, among others. This diversity is reflected in the county’s vibrant cultural heritage, with each community showcasing its unique traditions, music, dance, and folklore.

Visitors have the opportunity to immerse themselves in the local culture by attending colorful cultural festivals, exploring traditional homesteads, and interacting with community members.

Tourism and Wildlife

Nakuru County is a paradise for nature and wildlife enthusiasts. In addition to the avian wonders of Lake Nakuru, the county is home to several national parks and reserves, including Lake Nakuru National Park and Lake Elementaita. These protected areas provide a haven for a wide range of wildlife species, including rhinos, buffalos, giraffes, zebras, and various antelope species.

Game drives, birdwatching safaris, and nature walks are popular activities for visitors seeking an unforgettable wildlife experience.

Check out these tourist attractions in Nakuru County.

Nakuru County Map

Nakuru County map

Nakuru County map serves as a valuable tool for understanding the geographical layout and the diverse attractions of this Kenyan county. It provides a visual representation of Nakuru’s boundaries, towns, roads, and nature. These features allows both locals and visitors to navigate the area with ease.

In Conclusion

Nakuru County is a gem within the Rift Valley region. It offers a splendid mix of natural beauty, cultural diversity, and economic opportunities. Whether you are a nature lover, a history enthusiast, or a business-minded individual, Nakuru has something to offer.

From its stunning landscapes to a rich cultural heritage, this remarkable county is a destination worth exploring. Plan your visit to Nakuru County and discover the wonders that await you in this captivating part of Kenya.

Also check out our comprehensive guide to all 47 counties in Kenya with their websites, numbers, governors and headquarters. is the go-to platform for anyone looking for credible, informative, and entertaining content about Kenya and beyond.

Leave a Comment